Print page web address:

Back to web page (non print view)

CSU students share Create NSW scholarships

Tuesday, 31 Oct 2017

student Ben RodwellThree Charles Sturt University (CSU) theatre/media students are among nine NSW young artists selected to undertake professional development programs under Create NSW Young Regional Artist Scholarships.

Each year the Create NSW Young Regional Artist Scholarship initiative rewards 25 artists aged 18 to 25 years across the state. The initiative coves all art forms – from dance, design, digital arts, history, Aboriginal arts, literature, music, theatre, screen and curatorial to the visual arts.

Arts OutWest assisted the three successful theatre/media students in the CSU School of Communication and Creative Industries in Bathurst to write their applications.

The selected nine artists from the first round this year span a diverse range of art forms including circus, music, film, theatre and the visual arts. Each will receive a $10 000 grant to support a self-directed program.

Third-year student Mr Jesse Alston will develop a unique artistic theatre practice and a new body of work through the study of practical animation and professional mentorship from modern theatre practitioner Nel Kentish.

Recent graduate Mr Ben Rodwell (pictured above) will develop a directing practice through a week-long directing course and combine with knowledge from working with international and nationally-based children's theatre companies to create a short development with the support and mentorship of regionally-based artists.

Ms Johanna Williams will develop her skills as a playwright/dramaturge through internships and attendance at arts festivals and conferences, to develop new work that will involve creative development and mentorships in Bathurst.

The scholarships will officially commence on Wednesday 1 November when the group convenes for a two-day professional development training workshop at Carriageworks in Eveleigh curated by Create NSW, before they each embark on their own chosen programs.

During the workshop the students will receive expert advice, business management lessons and networking opportunities with a range of leading industry figures, visit arts organisations, and meet the NSW Minster for the Arts, the Hon. Mr Don Harwin, MLC.

For information on how to apply for the next round of scholarships, visit or email

Media contact: Bruce Andrews, (02) 6338 6084

Media Note:

Contact CSU Media to arrange interviews.

Photo shows recent CSU graduate and Create NSW scholarship recipient Mr Ben Rodwell (right) with the Executive Officer of Arts OutWest Ms Tracey Callinan.

Back to web page (non print view)