CSU AgriTech Incubator sells success to MPs, seeks new cohort

Friday 3 Nov 2017

The AgriTech Incubator launched earlier this year at Charles Sturt University (CSU) in Wagga Wagga will host the NSW Parliamentary Committee on Investment, Industry and Regional Development next Monday 6 November.

Professor John Mawson, Project Lead of the CSU AgriTech Incubator, is looking forward to welcoming the committee to Wagga Wagga next week.

"To have been selected to meet with the committee is a real boost of confidence by the NSW Parliament in the work we are doing with the Incubator," Professor Mawson said.

"The visit by the committee will provide participants from the latest cohort a great opportunity to share with parliamentarians first-hand, their honest thoughts and views on the challenges and benefits of launching and locating a start-up in regional NSW."

AgriTech Participants - open graph 

The NSW Parliament's committee is focussing its inquiries on how current state government policies and programs are currently supporting start-ups in regional areas, as well as what assistance can be provided to help reduce barriers for regional start-up businesses.

The visit by the NSW Parliamentary Committee is timely given CSU is now putting out a call for participants to apply and take part in the second cohort of start-up businesses.

The Incubator will be running another eight week program starting on Monday 5 February 2018 and requires a minimum commitment of two hours every Monday evening from 6pm to 8pm.

Professor Mawson indicated that while the AgriTech Incubator encourages start-ups seeking to create new opportunities in agriculture, any 'tech-enabled' regional start-up can apply.

"Topics covered in the program include design and disruptive thinking using the lean canvas business model, marketing, public relations, and advertising.

"Given the success of our first cohort and the leaps and bounds enjoyed by those start-ups, I am confident those who apply to take part in our second program will also find the experience beneficial for their business concept," Professor Mawson said.

Spaces in the program are limited. Applications close on Friday 15 December 2017 and must be made online via: www.innovate.csu.edu.au/Incubators/agritech.


Media contact: Aaron McDonnell, 0427 845 830

Media Note:

NSW Parliamentary Committee visit

The NSW Parliamentary Committee on Investment, Industry and Regional Development will visit the AgriTech Incubator at CSU in Wagga Wagga from 2pm to 4pm on Monday 6 November 2017.

Second intake of AgriTech Incubator participants

Professor Mawson is available to speak further about the next intake of participants for the second cohort of the AgriTech Incubator.

Please contact CSU Media to arrange interviews.