Scholarships worth $380,000 available for CSU health students

Wednesday 5 Dec 2018

* 76 scholarships worth $5,000 each available to CSU nursing and allied health students

* Scholarships for continuing and commencing first-year students

* Applications close Friday 14 December, so apply now

Seventy-six scholarships worth $5,000 each – with a total value of $380,000 − are available for commencing and continuing students who study a range of health courses at Charles Sturt University (CSU) in 2019.

The Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health (UDRH) at CSU in Wagga Wagga aims to increase the recruitment and retention of nursing, midwifery, allied health, and dentistry health professionals across regional NSW.

Director of the Three Rivers UDRH Ms Christine Howard (pictured left) said, “One of our strategies is the provision of scholarships to support students from our rural footprint to undertake health studies at Charles Sturt University.

“We believe the best way of improving our local health workforce is to train and recruit locals who may be more likely to take up employment in our region upon graduation.

“These accommodation scholarships are available to undergraduate health students from within the Three Rivers UDRH footprint (pictured below) to assist with on-campus accommodation costs at CSU in Albury-Wodonga, Dubbo, Orange, or Wagga Wagga.

“Whether you are a new health student or continuing, there may be a scholarship for you, but hurry and get your application in, because applications close Friday 14 December 2018.”

Please note, these scholarships are for accommodation costs and are listed below:

Three Rivers UDRH Health Student Scholarship - for continuing students.

Three Rivers UDRH First Year Health Student Accommodation Scholarship - or commencing first-year students.

Three Rivers UDRH at CSU, offers a variety of Scholarships and Grants throughout the year for students and academics in the following disciplines; nursing, midwifery, oral health and dental science, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, podiatry, speech pathology, pharmacy, paramedicine, medical radiation science, mental health (Indigenous), psychology, social work, exercise physiology, and pathology.

Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health at CSU acknowledges the Commonwealth Department of Health for this funding.

To find out more about Three Rivers UDRH go to

Or for further information about these scholarships or Three Rivers UDRH, please contact:

Three Rivers UDRH on phone: 02 6051 9177 or email:
Website: Social Media: @ThreeRiversUDRH


Media contact: Bruce Andrews, 0418 669 362

Media Note:

Contact CSU Media to arrange interviews with Ms Christine Howard (Director, Three Rivers UDRH) or Dr Pip Southwell (lecturer in rural health) who are based at CSU in Wagga Wagga.

Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health is a department of Charles Sturt University and is part of a consortium partnership with The University of New South Wales, Western Sydney University, and Notre Dame University. CSU and its consortium partners acknowledge the financial support provided by the Australian Government Department of Health through its Rural Health Multidisciplinary Training Program in the establishment of the Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health.