CSU communications students top national competition, again

Friday 21 Oct 2016

2016 Kajulu RedFor the seventh consecutive year two Charles Sturt University (CSU) student teams have been selected as finalists in the national 'Big Idea' marketing communications competition.

The competition is hosted by the Australian branch of the International Advertising Association (IAA), and the CSU teams – Kajulu Red (pictured top) and Kajulu Blue (picture below) – are comprised of students studying in the School of Communication and Creative Industries.

Lecturer in advertising Ms Anne Llewellynn said, "Once again, it is an outstanding achievement for our two student teams to be selected as finalists in this national competition.

"Every Australian tertiary institution is able to enter two teams in the 'Big Idea' competition, no other university has ever had two teams in the finals yet this is the seventh consecutive year we are finalists."

"The students are very excited and are now working intensely with me on their final pitches."

Each year the IAA selects a different not-for-profit charity for all the student teams to develop integrated marketing communications campaigns for, and in 2016 the not-for-profit charity is United Way Australia.

2016 Kajulu BlueThe CSU teams are comprised of students studying the Bachelor of Communication (Advertising), the Bachelor of Communication (Advertising) / Bachelor of Business (Marketing), the Bachelor of Communication (Public Relations), and the Bachelor of Creative Arts and Design (Graphic Design).

In 2016, 120 students took part in the competition from nine different tertiary institutions including CSU, Academy of Design, Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, RMIT, University of Canberra, University of the Sunshine Coast, University of Technology Sydney, and Victoria University.

This year the scores for the top place-getters in the heats were so close, five finalist teams have been chosen to present to the Judging Panel for the title of "National Champions" on Monday 31 October in Sydney.

Chairman of Judging panel, Mr Paul Swann (Creative Partner, The Works), said, "It was invigorating to see the amount of effort, enthusiasm and professionalism that went into this year's entries. Developing the 'Big Idea' isn't easy, but the type of thinking required was evident in a number of the submissions. I'm looking forward to the final judging, it's going to be fiercely contested."

Ms Heather Leembruggen, IAA Australia Chapter President & Chair IAA Australia Chapter said, "This year's teams' submissions from over 120 students from universities and tertiary institutions in NSW, ACT, VIC, QLD and WA, demonstrated some quality thinking and fine insights which translated into a range of creative solutions and constructive ideas presented with enthusiasm. All who participated in IAA 'Big Idea' 2016 can be proud of their work and their contribution to United Way Australia."

CSU's Kajulu Red team consists of Ms Meg Green, Ms Pascale Greenberg, Ms Larissa Harris, Mr Lachlan Reid, Mr Richard Robey, Mr Adam Stacey, and Ms Tara Guempel-Crothers. CSU's Kajulu Blue team consists of Mr Angus Flanery, Mr Harry Madigan, Ms Alodie Martin, Ms Lucy McInnes, Ms Emily Salisbury, Ms Lara Smith, and Mr James Daley.


Media contact: Bruce Andrews, (02) 6338 6084

Media Note:

Contact CSU Media to arrange interviews with Ms Anne Lllewellynn.

The IAA 'Big Idea' 2016 judging panel is:

Mr Paul Swann (creative partner, The Works; and chairman of judging panel); Mr Tim Burrowes, founder and content director, Mumbrella; Ms Janita Suter (national marketing and communications manager, United Way Australia); Mr Mark Frain (chief sales and marketing officer, MCN) Mr James Greet (chief media officer, Cummins and Partners); and Kim McKay (director, Klick Communications).

The 2016 IAA 'Big Idea' finalist teams are: ADVOC8 TEAM – University of Technology Sydney (UTS – NSW); CoLAB TEAM – University of Canberra (UC – ACT); KAJULU BLUE team - Charles Sturt University (CSU - NSW); KAJULU RED team - Charles Sturt University (CSU - NSW); and 7 TANS team - Academy of Design (AAD - VIC).

The photos of the two CSU teams show:

Kajulu Red (l to r): Richie Robey, Meg Green, Adam Stacey, Anne Llewellynn  (Advertising Discipline Leader and Faculty Advisor), Larissa Harris, Lachlan Reid, Pascale Greenberg.

Kajulu Blue (l to r): Lara Smith, Alodie Martin, Harry Madigan, Anne Llewellynn, Lucy McInnes, Angus Flanery, Emily Salisbury. The CSU graphic design students are based at CSU in Wagga Wagga.