National Rural Health Commissioner an important step toward healthier rural communities

Monday 23 Oct 2017

Charles Sturt University (CSU) says the appointment of Emeritus Professor Paul Worley as the first National Rural Health Commissioner is an important step toward healthier regional communities.

Professor Andrew Vann, CSU Vice-Chancellor said Professor Worley as National Rural Health Commissioner would provide the additional focus and resources needed to improve rural and regional health.

"As a practicing rural GP Professor Worley is aware the danger of a one doctor town can have on the health of communities."

"Professor Worley's experience and knowledge of rural health will help deliver the strong advocacy needed to address health resourcing in rural and regional Australia," Professor Vann said.

Professor Vann said CSU also welcomes the opportunity to collaborate and engage with Professor Worley on the health of our local communities.

CSU looks forward to working alongside the Rural Health Commissioner in furthering workforce capability and strengthening the Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health (UDRH) which allows more health students to live, study and work in regional Australia.

Professor Vann also pointed to CSU's partnership with La Trobe University in creating the Murray Darling Medical School (MDMS) which will help solve the shortage of doctors across regional NSW and Victoria.

"Under the MDMS, the University will invest in rural health training and provide the critical expertise, experience and capacity needed to solve the chronic shortage of doctors in our local towns and regional centres." Professor Vann said.

Professor Vann said the University will work closely with Professor Worley to ensure people in rural and regional Australia have access to the healthcare needs to the close the gap between metropolitan Australia and rural, regional and remotes towns.


Media contact: Victoria Erskine, 0429 217 026

Media Note:

 Contact CSU Media to arrange interviews with CSU Vice-Chancellor Professor Andrew Vann.