Top honour for agricultural scientist


An edible oils researcher with Charles Sturt University (CSU), Dr Rodney Mailer, has been named the winner of the 2009 Farrer Memorial Medal. Industry & Investment NSW Director-General Dr Richard Sheldrake presented the prestigious award to Dr Mailer at the 28th International Society for Fat Research Congress dinner in Sydney on Monday 28 September. Dr Richard Sheldrake said Dr Mailer’s award recognises his outstanding contribution to edible oils research in Australia, in particular his work on canola and olive oil. "Over the last 30 years Dr Mailer has become internationally recognised for his work on variety breeding and quality testing," Dr Sheldrake said. "Dr Mailer has been involved with the release of 22 canola cultivars, which have at times made up 50 per cent of Australia’s $600 million canola crop. His studies on olive oil quality, harvest timing, irrigation and storage have earned Dr Mailer international recognition for his major contribution to the development of the Australian olive industry.” Dr Mailer is an Adjunct Professor with the School of Agricultural and Wine Sciences at CSU at Wagga Wagga. He is currently a Principal Research Scientist with Industry & Investment NSW and the E H Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation.

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share
Share on Twitter Tweet
Share by Email Email
Share on LinkedIn Share
Print this page Print

Wagga Wagga Charles Sturt University