Years of service to farming industry recognised with University’s top honour

13 DECEMBER 2019

Years of service to farming industry recognised with University’s top honour

Charles Sturt will confer Mr Mick Keogh with a Doctor of Applied Science at a graduation ceremony in Wagga Wagga on Monday 16 December for his contributions to agriculture.

  • Mr Mick Keogh conferred with Doctor of Applied Science
  • Mr Keogh will receive this doctorate at a graduation ceremony at 2pm on Monday 16 December
  • The University Council confers Honorary Doctorates based on exceptional achievements

Decades of commitment to the agriculture industry by Mr Mick Keogh OAM will be acknowledged during a graduation ceremony at Charles Sturt University (Charles Sturt) in Wagga Wagga.

Mr Keogh’s dedication to rural Australia will be recognised with the conferral of Doctor of Applied Science (honoris causa) by the University on Monday 16 December.

Crucial in the establishment of the Australian Farm Institute as the organisation’s founding executive director, Mr Keogh helped develop the company and its stellar reputation.

In the citation for the nomination of his conferral, it states “The institute is noted for its integrity and independence and its publications are regularly quoted in parliaments around Australia”.

“The reputation was built on the shoulders of Mr Keogh, who became the wise, balanced, constructive expert and spokesperson on all things agriculture, both nationally and internationally.”

Mr Keogh was born in Wagga Wagga and raised on his family’s property at Mullengandra, in south-east Riverina.

He graduated from Wool and Pastoral Science in 1980 from the University of New South Wales and spent two years working on a cattle property.

Mr Keogh returned to university and obtained a Master in Applied Science.

His career has seen him hold numerous positions with the NSW Farmers Association, including executive officer wool and western division, policy director, and general manager of policy.

In the past 15 years, Mr Keogh has served on numerous advisory boards and councils, including with the Australian Government, CSIRO Sustainable Agriculture Flagship Advisory Council, Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment, and Primary Industries Material Advisory Council of New South Wales.

Mr Keogh is the current deputy chairman of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2015 for services to agriculture.

Charles Sturt Vice-Chancellor Professor Andrew Vann said Mr Keogh was extremely deserving of this honour.

“The agriculture industry is vital to this country, especially the regions where Charles Sturt University has established a campus,” Professor Vann said.

“Mick has shown amazing dedication to the improvement and success of agriculture and the University recognises this contribution.

“I want to congratulate Mick, and all other Honorary Doctorate recipients, for their efforts in their chosen fields.”

Mr Keogh said he admires Charles Sturt and its commitment to rural Australia and was honoured to be included among many worthy recipients.

“I am extremely honoured to be given such a recognition, although I am sure there are many more worthy recipients working in agriculture and science,” he said.

“Charles Sturt University is closely enmeshed with the communities in which it operates and with the industries for which it provides services.

“This results in a level of engagement and interaction with communities and industries that is simply not possibly for metropolitan universities and this greatly benefits the regions, the staff and the students that attend those institutions.”

Mr Keogh will receive his Honorary Doctorate at a graduation ceremony in Wagga Wagga at Joyes Hall (building 209) at 2pm on Monday 16 December.

Media Note:

To arrange interviews with Mr Mick Keogh, contact Nicole Barlow at Charles Sturt Media on 0429 217 026 or

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share
Share on Twitter Tweet
Share by Email Email
Share on LinkedIn Share
Print this page Print

Albury-Wodonga Wagga Wagga Agricultural Science Charles Sturt University