CSU clean sweep at crop comp


CSU agricultural science students have claimed top honours at the Australian Universities Crops Competition.

Crop judging winnersCharles Sturt University (CSU) agricultural science students have claimed top honours at the Australian Universities Crops Competition (AUCC).

The annual competition organised by national grain farmers' representative body, GrainGrowers, tests students' practical knowledge of crop production and the grains industry.

CSU won the team competition and students from the University picked up the first three places in the individual category.

Over the three-day event, CSU Bachelor of Agricultural Science students Mr Andrew Lord, Mr Thomas Jeffery, Mr Fraser Harrison, Mr Nicholas Grant, Mr Danyon Williams, Mr Angus Knight and Mr Elliot Lade competed in a range of agronomic and assessment tasks.

Mr Grant was awarded first place overall, Mr Williams second and Mr Jeffery was awarded third place.

Three crop winnersAll three students will now take part in a study tour of the United States in November where they will compete in the Collegiate Crops Judging Contest in Kansas City.

"I'm looking forward to the study tour, to learning more and seeing the scale of agricultural production in the United States," Mr Grant said. "Apparently they take the crop judging very seriously over there, so taking part in the competition will be a whole new experience and I'm excited about the prospect."

Team mentor and CSU lecturer in crop science Dr Sergio Moroni said, "This is an outstanding result for the members of the team and rewards their hard work and training to prepare for the competition.

"It also demonstrates that the agricultural science program at Charles Sturt University is industry relevant and prepares our students for the workforce."

In 2017 more than 30 students from five universities took part in the AUCC in Temora from Tuesday 12 to Thursday 14 September.

The team from CSU's School of Agricultural and Wine Sciences in Wagga Wagga was supported by the Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation.

Media Note:

Media are invited to interview the team on Monday 18 September at 11 am at the teaching farm plots off Agriculture Avenue at CSU in Wagga Wagga. To attend contact Graham Centre communications officer Ms Emily Malone 0439 552 385.

Photo of large group: The CSU team of  Mr Thomas Jeffery, mentor Mr Hayden Petty,  Mr Danyon Williams, Mr Fraser Hamilton, Mr Nicholas Grant, mentor Dr Sergio Moroni, Mr Andrew Lord Mr Angus Knight and Mr Elliot Lade with Chairman of Grain Growers Limited Mr John Eastburn

Photo of trio: Top three places Thomas Jeffery (3rd) Nick Grant (1st), Danyon Williams (2nd).

The Graham Centre is a research alliance between Charles Sturt University (CSU) and the NSW Department of Primary Industries (DPI).

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share
Share on Twitter Tweet
Share by Email Email
Share on LinkedIn Share
Print this page Print

Albury-Wodonga Bathurst Dubbo Orange Port Macquarie Wagga Wagga Agricultural Science Graham Centre Food production Charles Sturt University CSU students Science