OLT citation for CSU advertising lecturer


A lecturer responsible for teaching the CSU advertising degree was acknowledged by the federal government's Office of Learning and Teaching citation awards on Tuesday 16 September.

A lecturer responsible for teaching the Charles Sturt University (CSU) advertising degree was acknowledged by the federal government's Office of Learning and Teaching (OLT) citation awards on Tuesday 16 September.

Ms Anne Llewellynn, lecturer in advertising in the CSU School of Communication and Creative Industries, received one of four citations to five CSU academics who have made a significant contribution to the quality of student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period.

The citations provide recognition for distinctive institutional missions, values and priorities in learning and teaching, and more than 180 leading Australian university academics and professional staff from 36 universities were recognised.

The citation for Ms Llewellynn is 'for innovative development and application of the Charles Sturt University marketing communications curriculum to prepare students for participation in real-world professional practice'.

Ms Llewellynn said, "I am honoured and absolutely delighted to receive this important acknowledgement particularly as it reflects so positively on the authentic learning embedded in our course.

"Charles Sturt University advertising graduates are highly sought after by the marketing-communications industry. They graduate from the University job-ready, and I am so proud that I am able to play a significant part in their ongoing success.

"Our advertising students have the unique distinction of completing their final year in the School's on-campus Kajulu Communications advertising agency," Ms Llewellynn said.

"Kajulu teams have now won the annual national International Advertising Association (IAA) 'Big Idea' competition eight times out of the 11 competitions since 2003.

"It is a unique achievement that Charles Sturt University is the only university to have two teams reach the finals four years in a row.

"Our students consistently deliver industry-standard presentations and recommendations in the IAA competition, and as a result are valued and sought by advertising agencies when they graduate."

The annual IAA 'Big Idea' competition selects a charity for all the student teams to develop campaigns for, and the students pitch their presentations to a judging panel of marketing executives and a representative of the charity.
Media Note:

Contact CSU Media to arrange interviews with Ms Anne Llewellynn.

The other CSU OLT awardees among the were:

* Dr Valerie Ingham - For developing an integrated approach to postgraduate work-based research in emergency management, equipping students to contribute to workplace change through developing a policy or practice

* Dr Amy MacDonald - For approaches to mathematics education at a distance which inspire early childhood educators to engage with mathematics

* Associate Professor Wendy Nolan and Dr Barbara Hill - For leading respectful professional partnerships to implement a sustainable pedagogical framework for Indigenous Cultural Competency in Australian universities.

The CSU Division of Student Learning coordinates the CSU application process to the Office for Learning and Teaching (OLT) which administers the Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT). A full list of 2014 recipients can be found on the OLT website here. The winners of the 2014 Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning were announced by Federal Minister Christopher Pyne's office on Tuesday 16 September.

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share
Share on Twitter Tweet
Share by Email Email
Share on LinkedIn Share
Print this page Print

Albury-Wodonga Bathurst Canberra Dubbo Goulburn Manly Orange Parramatta Port Macquarie Wagga Wagga Business and Economics Charles Sturt University Communication and Creative Industries