Orange joins CSU community

5 JUNE 2006

In an historic step, the Orange Campus has been formally transferred to Charles Sturt University (CSU) from the University of Sydney.

In an historic step, the Orange Campus has been formally transferred to Charles Sturt University (CSU) from the University of Sydney.
The move follows the signing of a transfer agreement between the two institutions.
”From the outset Charles Sturt University has stated that the Orange Campus will allow us to increase educational opportunities in western NSW,” said Acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Ross Chambers.
”I welcome the Orange Campus staff and students to the CSU community.  Both have been built on a foundation serving regional and rural communities. I am certain that working together we will see our service to regional and rural Australia further flourish and prosper,” Professor Chambers said.
The Federal Government initially allocated an additional 100 student places to CSU for the Orange Campus. In the last few months CSU has again applied for additional student places for new initiatives planned for Orange. The recently announced Clinical Health Sciences degree to be offered at Orange in 2007 provides a much needed creative solution to the lack of dentists and doctors in regional areas.
The transfer will see the School of Rural Management, the Orange flagship, boosted by research growth and collaborative partnerships. The recent agreement CSU has signed with the NSW Minister for Primary Industries (DPI), the Hon Ian Macdonald, will see the relocation of the DPI agricultural research institute to the Orange Campus. This initiative will “result in the creation of an impressive collaborative hub of research and science on the Orange Campus”, according to the Minister.

On making the transfer announcement, Professor Chambers made special mention of the work and effort of staff and students at the Campus. “I would like to acknowledge the contribution made by the academic and general staff at Orange during the transitional time and I would also personally like to thank Professor Kevin Parton as Campus Director for his valued input and always considered approach throughout this transfer process.”
Plans are currently being finalised for official campus, staff and community celebrations to formally mark this historic occasion.
Charles Sturt University is the leading provider of distance and flexible learning in Australia and has campuses in Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst, Dubbo, Orange and Wagga Wagga as well as centres in Canberra, Goulburn and Manly in Sydney and Ontario in Canada.

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share
Share on Twitter Tweet
Share by Email Email
Share on LinkedIn Share
Print this page Print

Albury-Wodonga Bathurst Canberra Dubbo Manly Goulburn Orange Wagga Wagga Ontario, Canada Charles Sturt University Teaching and Education Health Society and Community