CSU student rep elections go online

29 AUGUST 2016

The election of student representative bodies at CSU has gone entirely online including one committee dedicated to the needs of students studying online.

The election of student representative bodies at Charles Sturt University (CSU) has gone entirely online including one committee dedicated to the needs of students studying online.

The online election process has seen the establishment of Student Representative Committees (SRC) at CSU in Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst, Dubbo, Orange, Port Macquarie and Wagga Wagga as well as the inaugural Committee for online students.

The University's Dean of Students Professor Julia Coyle said, "We believe that holding the Student Representative Committee elections online, and establishing an SRC for online students are two firsts for the higher education sector.

"Both the nominations and voting for all seven SRCs were held online through a purpose built platform designed as part of a new Student Portal, a project funded through the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).

"The online election process allows increased student engagement in the University. It makes the elections accessible to all students including many who may be on work placements or not physically able to attend a campus to vote.

"It is important for all students to be able to have a say in who is representing them through the Student Representative Committee so the SRCs have a strong voice within the University.

"The student online poll involved a successful four-way collaboration between the Office of Students, Division of Information Technology, Web Strategy Office and Student Senate at Charles Sturt University."

The inaugural 11-member SRC for online students includes undergraduate and postgraduate students studying a range of online programs including accounting, business administration, business leadership, information studies, human resources, education, psychology, environmental science, social work and nursing.

The new SRCs will meet for the first time shortly.

Media Note:

For further information or interviews, contact CSU Media.

The online voting for the 2016/2017 Student Representative Committee began on Wednesday 10 August and closed Wednesday 17 August. The results were announced at 5pm on Wednesday 17 August.

The Student Services and Amenities Fee was introduced in 2012 to fund non-academic student services, support and facilities. Since its introduction, the fee has helped fund more than $6.9 million worth of projects.

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share
Share on Twitter Tweet
Share by Email Email
Share on LinkedIn Share
Print this page Print

Wagga Wagga Charles Sturt University CSU students